© Heidelberg Marketing / Philipp Rothe

Heiliggeistkirche (Holy Spirit Church)

Short facts

    The Heiliggeistkirche, founded in 1398, is located in the heart of Heidelberg's old town.

    As early as the beginning of the 13th century, a small Romanesque basilica of the Holy Spirit stood on the site of today's Heiliggeistkirche, which probably fell victim to a fire at the beginning of the 14th century. An early Gothic church was built in its place, and on October 18, 1386 the opening mass for the founding of Heidelberg University took place there. Under Ruprecht III. the choir of the church was torn down 12 years later and replaced by a larger one. Thus the year 1398 is considered to be the founding year of the Heiliggeistkirche.

    The hall choir was completed in 1410, the building of the nave with the substructure of the tower under Ruprecht's son Ludwig III. in 1441. Ludwig III. laid the foundation for the later so famous Palatinate library, the BIBLIOTECA PALATINA, by having the first books set up in the galleries of the Heiliggeistkirche. During the reign of Ludwig V (1508-1544), when the most important palace buildings were built, the tower was further built and completed. In the course of the Reformation, the church changed several times between the Lutheran and Reformed Calvinist denominations. In 1563, the Heidelberg Catechism was created as a Reformed Confession. With the Thirty Years' War and the conquest of Heidelberg by Catholic troops, the city and the church became Catholic for many years and Pope Gregory XV read as spoils of war. bring the BIBLIOTECA PALATINA to Rome in 1623.
     
    In the course of the Palatine-Orléans War of Succession, the church was badly damaged in 1693. Almost all of the grave slabs of the Electors of the Palatinate were destroyed, but that of the Elector Ruprecht II, the founder of the church, is preserved. Of the once 5,000 books and 3,524 manuscripts, only 885 were returned to Heidelberg in 1816, all the rest remained in the Vatican.

    In the following two centuries, Catholic and Protestant alike asserted a claim to the church, so that, separated by a partition, the Catholic mass was celebrated in the choir and the Protestant service was celebrated in the nave. It was not until 1936, through the tireless efforts of the pastor of the Holy Spirit and later prelate, Pastor Hermann Maas, that an agreement with the Catholic Church came about; the church became the property of the Evangelical Church in Baden. For the Midsummer Festival in 1936, the Evangelical Holy Spirit Congregation celebrated service again for the first time in a church without a partition wall.

    Services:
    every Sunday at 11 a.m.
    Midday prayers from Monday to Saturday at 12.30 p.m.

    Visits:
    Monday - Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m., Sundays and public holidays 12.30 p.m. - 5 p.m.
    (Special opening times during Advent)
    Church tours take place on request, please call the parish office on +49 6221 21 117.

    Tower climb:
    Enjoy the unique view over Heidelberg's old town from the 38 m high viewing platform. A total of 208 steps lead to the tower. It is possible to climb the tower during the visiting hours.
    The visitors are asked for a donation.

    Concerts in the Heiliggeistkirche
    Organ short concerts:
    Fridays, Sundays and public holidays at 5.15 p.m.
    Heiliggeistkantor Christoph Andreas Schäfer & guests play 30 minutes of organ music from the Middle Ages to the modern.
    Entry:
    € 4, students € 2
    Tickets at the box office from 5 p.m.

    Church Music Hour:
    every Saturday at 6.15 p.m.
    Organ music - chamber music - choral music


    Information on the dates and options for ordering tickets can be found on the website of the Kantorat at the Heiliggeistkirche in the old town of Heidelberg: www.kirchenmusik-heidelberg.de and www.studentenkantorei.de

    TIP: Holders of the HeidelbergCARD receive a 20% discount for organ concerts and "hour of church music".

    On the map

    Evangelisches Pfarramt Heiliggeist-Providenz
    Heiliggeiststraße 17
    69117 Heidelberg
    Deutschland

    Phone: +49 6221 21117
    E-mail:
    Website: ekihd.de/html/die_heiliggeistkirche.html

    Next steps

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Heidelberg Marketing / Philipp Rothe

Heiliggeistkirche

Auf einen Blick

    Die 1398 gegründete Heiliggeistkirche liegt im Herzen der Heidelberger Altstadt.

    Bereits Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts stand an der Stelle der heutigen Heiliggeistkirche eine kleine romanische Basilika Zum Heiligen Geist, die vermutlich Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts einem Brand zum Opfer fiel. An ihrer Stelle wurde eine frühgotische Kirche erbaut, in der am 18. Oktober 1386 die Eröffnungsmesse zur Gründung der Universität Heidelberg stattfand. Unter Ruprecht III. wurde der Chor der Kirche bereits 12 Jahre später abgerissen und durch einen grösseren ersetzt. Somit gilt das Jahr 1398 als das Gründungsjahr der Heiliggeistkirche.

    Der Hallenchor wurde 1410 vollendet, der Langhausbau mit dem Unterbau des Turmes unter Ruprechts Sohn Ludwig III. im Jahre 1441. Ludwig III. legte den Grundstock zur späteren so berühmten Pfälzischen Bibliothek, der BIBLIOTECA PALATINA, indem er die ersten Bücher auf den Emporen der Heiliggeistkirche aufstellen ließ. Während der Regierungszeit Ludwig V. (1508-1544), als auch die wichtigsten Schlossbauten entstanden, wurde der Turm weitergebaut und fertiggestellt. Im Zuge der Reformation wechselte die Kirche mehrfach zwischen lutherischer und reformiert-calvinistischer Konfession. 1563 entstand als reformiertes Bekenntnis der Heidelberger Katechismus. Mit dem 30-jährigen Krieg und der Eroberung Heidelbergs durch katholische Truppen wurde die Stadt und die Kirche für viele Jahre katholisch und als Kriegsbeute lies Papst Gregor XV. die BIBLIOTECA PALATINA 1623 nach Rom bringen.
     
    Im Zuge des pfälzisch-orléansschen Erbfolgekriegs wurde die Kirche im Jahre 1693 stark beschädigt. Fast alle Grabplatten der Kurfürsten von der Pfalz wurden zerstört, erhalten ist die des Kurfürsten Ruprecht II, des Kirchengründers. Von den einst 5000 Büchern und 3524 Handschriften gelangten 1816 nur noch 885 zurück nach Heidelberg, alle übrigen verblieben im Vatikan.

    In den folgenden zwei Jahrhunderten wurde von katholischer wie protestantischer Seite gleichermaßen Anspruch auf die Kirche geltend gemacht, so dass, durch eine Scheidemauer getrennt, im Chorraum die katholische Messe, im Langhaus der evangelische Gottesdienst gefeiert wurden. Erst 1936 kam es durch den unermüdlichen Einsatz des Heiliggeistpfarrers und späteren Prälaten, Pfarrer Hermann Maas, zur Einigung mit der katholischen Kirche; die Kirche ging ganz in den Besitz der Evangelischen Kirche in Baden über. Zum Johannisfest 1936 feierte die evangelische Heiliggeistgemeinde erstmals wieder Gottesdienst in einer Kirche ohne Scheidemauer.

    Gottesdienste:
    jeden Sonntag um 11.00 Uhr
    Mittagsandachten von Montag bis Samstag jeweils um 12.30 Uhr

    Besichtigungen:
    Montag - Samstag 11.00 - 17.00 Uhr, Sonn- und Feiertage 12.30 - 17.00 Uhr
    (Sonderöffnungszeiten in der Adventszeit)
    Kirchenführungen finden auf Anfrage statt, bitte melden Sie sich telefonisch beim Pfarrbüro unter Tel. +49 6221 21 117.

    Turmaufstieg:
    Genießen Sie den einzigartigen Ausblick über die Heidelberger Altstadt von der 38 m hohen Aussichtsplattform. Insgesamt 208 Stufen führen auf den Turm. Der Turmaufstieg ist während der Besichtigungszeiten möglich.
    Die Besucher werden um eine Spende gebeten.

    Konzerte in der Heiliggeistkirche

    Orgelkurzkonzerte:
    freitags, sonntags und feiertags um 17.15 Uhr
    Heiliggeistkantor Christoph Andreas Schäfer & Gäste spielen 30 Minuten Orgelmusik von Mittelalter bis Moderne.

    Eintritt:
    4,- €, Studenten 2,- €
    Karten an der Konzertkasse ab 17.00 Uhr

    Stunde der Kirchenmusik:
    jeden Samstag um 18.15 Uhr
    Orgelmusik - Kammermusik - Chormusik

    Informationen zu den Terminen und Bestellmöglichkeiten für Eintrittskarten finden Sie auf der Internetseite des Kantorats an der Heiliggeistkirche in der Altstadtgemeinde Heidelberg: www.kirchenmusik-heidelberg.de und www.studentenkantorei.de

    TIPP: Inhaber der HeidelbergCARD erhalten 20 % Ermäßigung für Orgelkonzerte und "Stunde der Kirchenmusik".





    Auf der Karte

    Evangelisches Pfarramt Heiliggeist-Providenz
    Heiliggeiststraße 17
    69117 Heidelberg
    Deutschland

    Tel.: +49 6221 21117
    E-Mail:
    Webseite: ekihd.de/html/die_heiliggeistkirche.html

    Was möchten Sie als nächstes tun?

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.