© Heidelberg Marketing / Tobias Schwerdt

Königstuhl (The King's Seat)

Short facts

    The Königstuhl is Heidelberg's 568 meter high mountain.

    On the Königstuhl you will find an oasis of calm and relaxation, which also offers a fantastic view of Heidelberg, the Neckar Valley and the Rhine plain.
    In the warm season it is between 5 and 6 degrees cooler here than in the city.
    A steep staircase (also known as the Himmelsleiter) and, since 1907, the mountain railways lead up to the Königstuhl from the castle: From the Kornmarkt valley station, the castle and Molkenkur stations lead up to the summit.
    Alternatively, the number 39 bus runs every hour from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. from Bismarckplatz to Königstuhl.

    Above, visitors can expect not only breathtaking views, but also many attractions: the fairy tale paradise amusement park with 48,000 square meters promises magical hours for the whole family, the Tinnunculus falconry organizes daily public flight demonstrations and at the famous state observatory you can immerse yourself in the fascination of astronomy.

    Those who prefer to hike will find many attractive destinations and routes of every fitness level from the Königstuhl. Two very special forest trails have been created here: the "Via Naturae" and the forest adventure trail. All routes are marked.

    On the map

    Heidelberg Marketing GmbH
    Königstuhl
    69117 Heidelberg
    Deutschland

    Phone: +49 6221 58 44 444
    E-mail:

    General information

    Next steps

    It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

    For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Heidelberg Marketing / Tobias Schwerdt

Königstuhl

Auf einen Blick

    Der Königstuhl ist der 568 Meter hohe Hausberg von Heidelberg.

    Auf dem Königstuhl findet man eine Oase der Ruhe und Erholung, die zugleich eine phantastische Aussicht auf Heidelberg, das Neckartal und die Rheinebene bietet.
    In der warmen Jahreszeit ist es hier zwischen 5 und 6 Grad kühler als in der Stadt.

    Vom Schloss führen eine steile Treppe (auch Himmelsleiter genannt) und seit 1907 auch die Bergbahnen hinauf zum Königstuhl: Von der Talstation Kornmarkt geht es über die Stationen Schloss und Molkenkur bis hinauf zum Gipfel.
    Alternativ fährt auch der Bus der Linie 39 ab 6.00 Uhr bis 19.00 Uhr stündlich vom Bismarckplatz zum Königstuhl.

    Oben erwarten Besucher nicht nur atemberaubende Ausblicke, sondern auch viele Attraktionen: der Freizeitpark Märchenparadies mit 48.000 qm verspricht zauberhafte Stunden für die ganze Familie, die Falknerei Tinnunculus veranstaltet täglich öffentliche Flugvorführungen und bei der berühmten Landessternwarte können Sie in die Faszination der Astronomie eintauchen.

    Wer lieber wandern möchte, findet vom Königstuhl aus viele reizvolle Ziele und Routen jeder Fitness-Stufe. Zwei ganz besondere Waldwege wurden hier angelegt: die "Via Naturae" und der Walderlebnispfad. Alle Routen sind gekennzeichnet.

    Auf der Karte

    Heidelberg Marketing GmbH
    Königstuhl
    69117 Heidelberg
    Deutschland

    Tel.: +49 6221 58 44 444
    E-Mail:

    Gut zu wissen

    Was möchten Sie als nächstes tun?

    Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

    Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.